top of page

ZOÉ Celebrates 20 Year Anniversary With Multiple Sold Out Shows in The US

After the success of their previous album and tour, ZOÉ has become one of the most important bands in the Latin rock scene. ZOÉ started off their U.S. tour on the right foot with multiple 'Sold Out' dates during April and continue their tour with stops in New York tonight, followed by Washington DC, Chicago, Rosemont, Anaheim, Los Angeles , Riverside, San Diego, San Francisco and Denver.

Along with the tour, the ®Grammy winning band celebrate their 20th anniversary with the release of their sixth studio album titled Aztlán, inspired by the mystical birth place of the Aztec people.

"This is undoubtedly the record on which that conscience or social criticism is most appreciated: we talk about immigration, about the situation in the country ... ZOÉ have never been known for protest songs. However, in our music, in our energy, in our metaphors, the problems of the country and of Latin America in general creep in," said León Larregui, leader of ZOÉ.

The title of the album, Aztlán, is a reference to our people. It is an invitation to discover the beauty and richness of our culture, and look inward so we can recover that Mexican dignity and pride. This reflection to the past is with the hopes that as we reinvent ourselves in the near future we continue to maintain our ‘Mexicanness’ in a globalized world. This concept did not necessarily have direct impact on the sounds of the songs, it was more conceptual.”

Aztlan debuted at No. 1 on iTunes: Mexico

The album has 12 songs written by Leon Larregui and produced by Craig Silvey (Arcade Fire, Kasabian, Stereophonics, Noel Gallagher and Florence and The Machine), Phill Vinall (Placebo, Pulp, Mark Knopfler, Elastic) and Zoé.

Aztlan features the following songs: “Venus,” “Azul,” “No Hay Mal Que Dure,” “Al Final,” “Hielo,” “Luci,” “Aztlan,” “Temor y Temblor,” “Renacer,” “Ella es Magia,” “Oropel,” and “Clarividad.”

The album was recorded between January and September 2017 at Panoram studios in Mexico City, mixed by Craig Silvey at Toast Studios in London and mastered by Greg Calbi (Blondie, Deep Purple, Arcade Fire, Foster The People, Fleet Foxes) Sterling Sound of New York.

The music video for the song "Azul" (Blue), the first single off Aztlan, received more than 2 million views the day of its release and as of the time of this press release has more than 11 million views. The proceeding singles "Temor y Temblor" (fear and tremble), and "Clarividad" (clarity), both immediately reached first place on the most viral and global charts in Mexico and the U.S. including Spotify and iTunes' Latino Alternativo Chart.

Below are the Tour Dates:


3 New York, NY Irving Plaza

4 Washington DC The Fillmore

6 Rosemont Il, Joes’ Live

7 Chicago, IL House Of Blues

9 Denver, CO Summit Music Hall

11 San Francisco, CA Masonic

12 San Diego, CA House Of Blues

15 Anaheim, CA House Of Blues

16 Los Angeles, CA The Wiltern

17 Riverside, CA Riverside Auditorium

Press release courtesy of Vesper Public Relations

bottom of page